Companions on the Journey

Monday, March 31

3-31By Steven L. Shields of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

By the tender mercy of our God, the dawn from on high will break upon us, to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace.”

—Luke 1:78–79

Not long ago, my friend and his fiancé needed a ride from the airport. I met them at baggage claim and helped them load the luggage into my car. Not knowing the way from the airport to the fiancé’s house, I asked for the destination. My friend replied, “Don’t worry, I’ll tell you where to turn along the way.”

I headed toward the motorway, when my friend suddenly said, “Take this exit.” With screeching tires, I barely made the turn, cutting off another car. I asked my friend to tell me where we were going, so I could think ahead of the route to avoid such dangerous maneuvers. He said, “Don’t worry, I’ll tell you where to go.”

I knew that somewhere along the way I would have to exit the motorway, so again I asked, “What exit do I need to take next?” He replied, “Don’t worry, I’ll tell you when we get close.” I do not know that part of the city well, so I begged him to tell me what street we were looking for. He told me the name of the street, and soon I saw a signboard telling me it was a mile ahead.

We exited and headed east along the main thoroughfare. I asked, “What street are we looking for? Will we need to turn right or left?” My friend said, “Don’t worry, I’ll tell you when we get there.”

I have a much easier journey if I know the destination. However, the path of the disciple is not so much about the destination as it is about the journey. For it is along the way that we share the peace of Jesus Christ. Our minds focus so much on the destination we do not often notice the scenery. As we travel along the path of the disciple, we will meet many people who need our loving touch or kind words of encouragement.

With my friends in the car, I did not need to worry about the destination. We were together; we were community. As long as we journeyed together, we knew we would reach our destination, and we would know along the way when and where it was best to turn.

Prayer for Peace
Guide us, God. Shine your light on the path you would have us take. Whisper to us at each turn. Open our eyes to see your creation along the path to peace.

Spiritual Practice: Offering Blessings of Community
Begin with a prayer of gratitude for the relationships in your life. See and feel connections with family members, spiritual friends, people in your congregation and community, and people and creatures in God’s sacred web of life. What blessings flow to you from these circles? How have you felt the love of the community? Go deeper each day as you discern what act of blessing you are invited to complete for stranger and friend alike.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will let go of having to know. I will put my trust in you.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

