Raised to New Life

Sunday, April 6

4-6aBy Dennis Aldridge of Eardisley, Herefordshire, UK

When Mary came where Jesus was and saw him, she knelt at his feet and said to him, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who came with her also weeping, he was greatly disturbed in spirit and deeply moved. He said, “Where have you laid him?” They said to him, “Lord, come and see.”

—John 11:32–34

I collapsed from a heart attack and (according to the doctors) a stroke at the same time. My wife, who has supported me throughout, rang for the ambulance that took me to hospital, where I stayed for some time. I prayed, and others prayed for me. I asked for the sacrament of laying on of hands for the sick, which I received with a rich presence of the Spirit.

A month later doctors diagnosed me with two kinds of cancer. I had chemotherapy, radiotherapy, and goodness knows what else! Again, the Spirit led me to ask for laying on of hands for the sick. The Spirit moved Barrie Fox and Andrew Bolton to come to our home from the British Isles Reunion to pray for me. This deeply touched me!

I have prayed for the sick—and been blessed. But I never have known a prayer like the simple one Andrew offered. I am still here more than two years later. This healing comfort raised me to a new kind of life—grateful to my Christ, who sent his disciples to “come and see” one who needed Christ’s healing touch.

I tried to express how I felt with the following poem:

I can sing my song of healing, yes, sing it anywhere
And I sing it with new feeling, and to a joyous air!
For God has made me whole again in answer to my prayer,
And I have now no doubts or pain and am no longer sad.
God’s Spirit came and made me well.
Yes, God has made me glad!

Prayer for Peace
God who weeps with us, may we be the hands of Jesus, serving in his stead. May we learn to share Christ-like compassion and peace.

Spiritual Practice: Intercessory Reflection and Prayer
Sit quietly with your eyes closed as you enter intercessory reflection and prayer. Ask God to bring persons who need prayer to your mind and heart. Be open to images of the people, and spiritual insight into their needs. Listen for signals from their lives and let the depth of God’s love for them become powerful and real to you. Write, speak, or think a prayer of blessing and healing for these much-loved disciples and friends. Ask God to help you see ways to affirm and support them when you meet them in daily life.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I rejoice that Christ’s compassion and peace is ours to share.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dennis was indeed a man of faith and trust in God. I recently attended his funeral and it was a service of thanksgiving of a life lived walking closely with his creator. He taught me about the healing and peace found in administration and I can confirm it’s truth in my life.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  6 April 2014

    There are many who have benefitted from your ministry, Dennis, and now thanks to such rich blessings, even more of us will be blessed.

Comments

