A Big Pain!

Thursday, April 10

4-10By Cindy L. Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

So if anyone is in Christ, there is a new creation: everything old has passed away; see, everything has become new!

—2 Corinthians 5:17

A small sliver in my finger kept bothering me. At first I ignored it, thinking it would quit hurting. But, whenever my finger touched something, a sharp pain raced through my hand. Still, I thought the sliver would go away, and I did nothing.

As the day passed, the sliver became wedged deeper, causing my finger to throb and hurt even when it wasn’t touching anything. I thought about removing the splinter, but I didn’t want to go through the pain. I still hoped my finger would get better on its own.

The sliver did not go away, and the pain did not get better. I finally asked my husband to remove it with a needle and tweezers. It is astounding how quickly my finger became better, and the pain disappeared.

Life brings many slivers—grudges, jealousies, selfishness, hurtful words spoken and not forgotten. I deceive myself into thinking that by ignoring them, they will go away. But, like the sliver, they can fester and grow more painful. Christ can help us let go of the “slivers,” relieve the pain, and make everything new.

Prayer for Peace
Forgiving God, help us get past our “old” selves and become “new” in Christ. Help us let go of old hurts and thoughtless words. Help us be at peace without these burdens.

Spiritual Practice: An Offering of Ashes
God promises healing for our wounds and losses. Hold (or imagine holding) a pinch of ashes in your hands as you become aware of situations in your life, family, congregation, and world that are broken, lost, or falling apart. Be honest with God about the fear, sadness, or burden you feel. Offer the ashes to God in prayer. Ask God to create beauty, peace, and healing in the places and people who now experience the ashes of despair and grief.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will not let tiny injuries fester into something bigger.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It’s so easy to do this too, I am one of many that will think that this post was a very good way to describe the pains in life! I just wanted to let you know, this is one of the really good posts I read here as far as as teaching post! Thank you

  2. Your thoughts ring so true, as we compare it with our lives,and things which we allow to trouble us.

Comments

