Can’t See the Brokenness

Monday, April 28

4-28By Karen Moreland of Independence, Missouri, USA

Open your hearts and feel the yearnings of your brothers and sisters who are lonely… Respect each life journey, even in its brokenness and uncertainty, for each person has walked alone at times. Be ready to listen…

—Doctrine and Covenants 161:3a–b

Spring is my favorite season. I love to hear birds chirping and see the panorama of color. Each year I hang flower baskets along the front of our house. We have a life-size white swan planter sitting on the porch railing. I put a ceramic bluebird on the rail facing the swan. It looks like the swan is fondly caring for the little bird.

One day I walked by, and I thought something wasn’t right. I looked closer look and found the little bluebird was broken and its pieces carefully placed back on the ledge. The swan, its slender neck gracefully bending toward the broken bird, looked like it was nurturing the little bird in its brokenness.

I asked my husband if he knew what had happened to my bluebird. “The cat did it.” Further questioning revealed my husband accidentally had knocked the bird off the railing and tried to glue the fragments back together, an impossible task. Knowing I would notice if the bird were missing, he set it back on the railing, hoping I wouldn’t see its brokenness until he could find a replacement. We laughed. Then he added, “You aren’t very observant. It’s been that way for some time.”

I thought about his comment. I wondered how many times I walk through my daily routine and not notice the faces of those who are broken and bruised. How many times do I focus on my own agenda so much that I walk past a lonely person and not even smile? How many times do I look in the eyes of those who are hungry but think only of my own meals?

I pray for clearer vision so I may see others as God sees them. May God help me reach with loving kindness to ease another’s pain, so I might become a nurturer of souls, a mender of broken hearts.

Prayer for Peace
God, help us see with our hearts. Make us keenly aware of brokenness beneath smiling facades. Show us the places we need to share the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Healing for Broken Spirits
Begin with quiet prayer. Ask God to help you discern some “broken places” in the body of Christ and in God’s creation. Become aware of people who feel separated, wounded, or left out. Reflect on or write a short journal entry of healing words to at least one person who comes to mind. Ask God for words that will touch this person’s broken spirit like healing ointment. Keep this person in your heart and prayers today and act on any ideas to bring blessing and wholeness.

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will be aware of ways I can comfort a broken spirit.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Diane Akers

     /  28 April 2014

    Oh, so true. Hopefully we will all be more aware of others needs!

  2. Nancy

     /  28 April 2014

    This gave me room to examine myself and try to see others that need a friendly smile or encouraging word.

Comments

