We Plant in Faith

Tuesday, April 29

4-29By John Bonney of Springfield, Oregon, USA

He said to them, “Because of your little faith. For truly I tell you, if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.”

—Matthew 17:20 NRSV

In the spring, on any given day, we go into our yard to plant. We soak vegetable seeds for several hours to improve germination and give them a head start. We plant in raised beds and ground-level beds. We trim, weed, water, and fertilize. We do this several times over two or three months. And of course, we practice faith, because that’s part of planting.

Even those who find the term “faith” has too much religious baggage, even they plant in faith. They expect the plant to respond and grow, even when it is yet unseen. Planting of anything, not just seeds and bulbs, is a matter of faith. Planting is a vision, an anticipation of the inner eye of the imagination.

There probably are as many definitions of faith as there are people to offer them. One definition that has worked well for me, and that I often refer to is, faith is acting as if… as if what? As if what I imagine, what I see in my mind’s eye, what I believe to be true, is reality, and I live as if it were so.

For me, faith is not a single act or even a group of acts. It is a lifestyle, a way of living. Faith is responding to the unseen Spirit. It is an attitude that says even though I can’t prove this, even though I can’t see it, hear it, or touch it, I believe it. Therefore I’ll live my life as if it were. Faith is living belief.

So we plant our seeds and bulbs, believing that what we imagine will be. Is my life what God envisions it? I pray I am faithful to the divine image within me.

Prayer for Peace
Divine Planter, nourish us with your living water, Jesus Christ. May our faith grow in response to his love. May his peace grow as we share it.

Spiritual Practice: Trees
Watch the trees outside your window for a few moments. Close your eyes and meditate on Alma’s words about seeds and trees. If you were to plant and grow the Word of God in your heart, what tree might symbolically represent this process? Imagine a seed as it grows into a tree of life and blessing. Ask God to show you how to begin (see Alma 16:152–173).

Peace Covenant
Today, God, I will live as if…

Leave a comment

Comments

