Tugging on My Heart

Monday, May 19

5-19By Scott Blair of Independence, Missouri, USA

Do not neglect the smallest among you, for even the least of these are treasures in God’s sight. Receive the giftedness, and energy of children and youth, listening to understand their questions and their wisdom. Respond to their need to be loved and nurtured as they grow.

—Doctrine and Covenants 161:4a

I was new to my congregation and had committed my energy to revitalizing the young-adult ministry. I enjoyed it this way and felt it was “enough.” Then I faced a challenging task.

“We need to get a youth group started,” she said. “She” is an elderly woman who had been praying on this matter for some time.

My congregation had lost most of its people under 40, so she was right when she said it was time to start. We had one regular youth, and he was active in all sorts of other events, as well. I didn’t doubt the elderly woman, but I told myself that I was too busy to consider getting involved, so I moved on.

Though I didn’t want to worry about youth, I kept feeling a tugging on my heart that it needed to happen. I chose to pray about it. As I prayed, I thought of people to ask who could help lead the group, since it would not be my primary focus. As I asked people, I found willing volunteers.

Finally, I received a call from a mother who was trying to figure out what to do with her at-risk child. I had experience with children like this, and someone had given her my number. I told her about the youth group we were starting, and she was so excited! She said I could expect him the first day—and he was there!

Our youth group started with one youth. It doubled and tripled as the weeks went on. We now have 16 who attend regularly. They have not all committed to attending Sunday services, but they bring an excitement to the congregation by their attendance at our Wednesday-night program. I thank God for tugging at my heart and helping me understand what the elderly woman obviously knew.

Prayer for Peace Steadfast God, we thank you for your continuous presence, which tugs us to action. Thank you for your unconditional love, which prods us to peace.

Spiritual Practice: Examining God’s Call to Me and to All Reflect on God’s call in your life. Begin by prayerfully asking to recall particular moments when you have experienced God’s presence and invitation. How and when has God called you to use your energies and gifts? When have you felt God’s love in your life? When have you felt resistant to God’s call? How do your gifts and callings connect with the call of God you notice in your family, friends, congregation, or community?

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will listen for your message and make the right choice.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Comments

