What Does Your Community Believe about Peace?

Tuesday, May 27

5-27By Lillian Kirby of Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

He shall judge between the nations, and shall arbitrate for many peoples; they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks; nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more.

—Isaiah 2:4 NRSV

As a chaplain at the Temple in Independence, Missouri, I have the opportunity to answer phone calls from people asking questions and seeking information about Community of Christ.

One day a young man called from Ogden, Utah. We talked about 30 minutes. His interest was in the Doctrine and Covenants sections about peace. He told me he was a member of another denomination and was interested in our beliefs. He also wanted to know about our reasons for building the Temple.

My answers focused on our mission to be a peace church. I told him about the sculpture on the World Plaza of “beating swords into plowshares.” I stressed the importance we place on “open doors” to all people of the world. All are welcome for the healing ministries available to those seeking reconciliation. As we talked, I sensed a good spirit present between us.

We ended our conversation with him thanking me and calling me “Sister Kirby.” Later I mailed him a Doctrine and Covenants and a Book of Mormon, courtesy of the Presidents of Seventy office. I hope he has an opportunity to accept my invitation to visit us. My prayer is that my new friend, my brother in Christ, might be guided as he studies and pursues peace.

Prayer for Peace Welcoming God, help us share Christ’s message of peace to all who will hear. Let us share in our prayers, in our songs, our scriptures, art, pursuits, and ministries that flow from our temples.

Spiritual Practice: Invite People to Christ Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 162:3b and 163:2b. Pray to be aware of people who might be receptive, and therefore blessed, by your sharing of the message of the Living Christ. Imagine being in relationship with them and inviting them to Christ. In preparation, discover your personal testimony of Christ. “Be persistent in your witness and diligent in your mission to the world.” Repeat this mantra throughout the day: “Christ’s mission, our mission, my mission.”

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will live as a sanctuary of peace.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Karen (Dudek) Sebby

     /  27 May 2014

    Thank you Lillian for your loving, caring ministry!

Comments

