Because of Who God Is

Wednesday, May 28

5-28By Jackie Porter of Thornton, Colorado, USA

Who is wise and understanding among you? Show by your good life that your works are done with gentleness born of wisdom.

—James 3:13 NRSV

I like company and didn’t want to go shopping alone. My husband, friends, daughter, and daughter-in-law were all busy, so I went alone. After about three minutes on the freeway, I saw trouble heading right for me.

A large truck tire was flying from oncoming traffic, heading for my car. The traffic was heavy, and I could see no way out. Big trucks were in front and beside me. Slowing down suddenly could be dangerous because we were going about 65 miles per hour.

My life passed in front of me in the space of seconds. Then an impression came to “hang on tight to the steering wheel, and lean left!” I saw the tire bounce up and head straight for my windshield. Terrified, I grasped the steering wheel and leaned to the left. I think I even closed my eyes for a second. I heard a loud bang as the tire tore through the windshield and the roof of my car. I heard and felt the tire fly by my head. Then an inner voice said, “Slow down and pull over to the left.” And I did.

I was alive! Relief flooded my soul. I knew God had been with me. As I finally stopped on the median, I sat there trying to take in what had just happened. A woman opened the car door and asked how I was. “Fine!” I exclaimed. She said I had a bad gash on my arm, which I hadn’t noticed. She made me stay there until the ambulance arrived.

As I walked to the ambulance, I looked at my car. The roof was rolled under like a sardine can. The space where my head was, before I leaned left, had a big piece of metal in it. Another big piece of metal was in the passenger seat. The tire lodged itself in the backseat—in the infant car seat! I was most grateful that I was alone in the car.

God was with me through this storm of terror and has been with me during other storms. The world became new to me that day. The next day a new baby blessed us—our first grandson! Had panic set in, I would have missed holding him in my arms. I was blessed, not because of who I am, but because of who God is.

Prayer for Peace Ever-present God, you are with us through all our storms. Help us to listen for your presence, your voice, and your desires for our lives. Help us respond to your longing for shalom by sharing Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Voices of God What is the voice of God saying to us? Do we hear the whispers of God’s longing for shalom; God’s dream of beauty and wholeness for all creation? Do we hear the “voice” of God calling to us in faces and eyes, in the sounds of suffering and joy, in scripture and sacred word, in tears and laughter, in silence and noise? Reflect on when and how God’s voice speaks to you.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will be alert and responsive to your direction.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. ethelwismer@xplornet.com

     /  28 May 2014

       

  2. Nancy

     /  28 May 2014

    yes, god is with us through all life’s storms.

  3. Lois Gould

     /  28 May 2014

    Such a beautiful testimony. Jackie and her family are such a blessing to my life and the life of our congregation

Comments

