When the Spirit Says, “Go”…GO!

Tuesday, June 3

6-3By Dennis Aldridge of Eardisley, Hereford, England

If you offer your food to the hungry and satisfy the needs of the afflicted, then your light shall rise in the darkness and your gloom be like the noonday. The Lord will guide you continually, and satisfy your needs in parched places, and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters never fail.

—Isaiah 58:10–11 NRSV

When I was a young man, recently married, I lived in Bradford in Yorkshire, England. My wife worked in town at Central Library. She used to work some Saturday mornings and then have the afternoon off. One Saturday, I decided to meet her at the library so we could have the rest of the day together in town.

Bradford is in a basin—you walk downhill into it. We did not have a car, and rather than taking the bus into town, I walked. For a reason I don’t remember, I walked an unusual route. I was a young man, dressed in his finery, walking toward town through one of Bradford’s poorer areas.

As I walked down the hill, I saw an elderly woman coming up toward me, pushing a disabled man in a wheelchair. She struggled on the hill. They were dressed poorly, their clothes dirty and tattered. As I passed them, the Spirit said to me, “You could help!”

I did not want to. In my smart clothes, I felt I stood out from those around me, and I was painfully shy. However, the Spirit said, “Help them!”

“May I help you?” I said, and took over pushing the wheelchair. To my dismay the couple made much of what I was doing as I pushed the chair up the hill. They called to all who could hear, “Look at us!” It was clear they were well-known in the neighborhood. People came to their doorways to see about the hullabaloo. I nearly died of embarrassment. I got them safely to their home and then fled to meet my wife.

I have remembered that encounter for more than 50 years. When the Spirit tells you what to do, it’s a good idea to do it.

Prayer for Peace Creator God, help us see all people as worthy and lovable. Help us look past what may be unpleasant, to souls that long to know you. May we be instruments of Christ’s mission.

Spiritual Practice: Honoring the Worth of All Persons Sense the intimate knowledge and love God has for you and for everyone. Be aware of the sacred worth of each person. Weep with God over the soul-wounding forces and events that rob people of dignity and worth. How are you invited to notice, protect, heal, and affirm the spiritual identity of all God’s beloved people today? Pray for God’s compassion.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will see others as you see them. I will not feel uneasy to serve.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Melba J Dixon

     /  3 June 2014

    Your story blessed my life today. It is a lovely reminder to obey the prompting of the Spirit. Thank you.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  3 June 2014

    Dennis, your story today reminded me once again what a true servant you have been. Blessings!

  3. Gladys Geis

     /  3 June 2014

    Thanks much for your testimony. I know these thoughts to be true. I have wittnessed these same things in my life. God is so good to share with us all.

Comments

