You Can See It in the People

Monday, June 9

Dunfield House

Dunfield House

By Michael Clarke of Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, England

And there came a voice to them, a pleasant voice, as if it were a whisper, saying, “Peace, peace be to you because of your faith in my well beloved, who was from the foundation of the world.”

—Helaman 2:112

I had just returned home after a weekend with my church family from Clay Cross in a congregation weekend at Dunfield House, the British Isles Mission Centre campgrounds. It was the first time at Dunfield for three of our church members. It was good to see their faces as we arrived.

On the first night, one said he could feel the Spirit all around. I asked if he would share how he could sense the Spirit. He said, “You can see it in the people, the church family, in the place, and in the nature around Dunfield.”

This reminded me of my first time at Dunfield. I had spoken the same words. I told him that to me, Dunfield was like heaven, full of God’s love. I added that our church, Community of Christ, is a church of people who share God’s love and care for all.

We had a great time at Dunfield. At the end of the weekend, we traveled back to Clay Cross. I stayed the night with friends, Andrew and Kyle, before returning to my home in Scunthorpe the next day. They waved at me as I left on the train. Each of us had tears in our eyes. On the train, I smiled, knowing my church family loves and cares for me.

Prayer for Peace Thank you, God, for times at quiet places where we hear you more clearly. Thank you for our communities where we can feel your love and Spirit. Thank you for the way we see you in the faces of your creation.

Spiritual Practice: Honoring the Worth of All Persons Read Psalm 139:13–18. After each reading sit quietly and let the words sink deeply into your mind, heart, and body. Imagine God watching you grow in your mother’s womb. What thoughts and feelings do you have about being “fearfully and wonderfully made”?

Sense the intimate knowledge and love God has for you and everyone. Be aware of the sacred worth of each person. Weep with God over the soul-wounding forces and events that rob people of dignity and worth. How does God invite you to notice, protect, heal, and affirm the spiritual identity of all God’s beloved people today? Pray for God’s compassion.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will invite someone to a church or family activity.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Please change my email to CCCampbell1@mail.com. Thanx. CCC

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  9 June 2014

    As one who was raised in Wigan, Lancashire, I was converted to the church on a youth camp with wonderful people like Jim and George Barrington. I have visited Dunfield House. Sitting in my home in Oregon, USA,, your story brought back many great memories..

  3. Keith McMillan

     /  9 June 2014

    Michael-thank you so much for sharing this. I could see myself on that train platform with tears in my eyes saying goodbye to you as well. You are one incredible person and I was so fortunate to get to know you at primitive camp at Dunfield. Take care and thank you so much for writing this!

  4. Gladys Geis

     /  9 June 2014

    Thanks much for your thoughts.

Comments

