I Think I Can! I Think I Can!

Tuesday, June 10

6-10By JoAnn Condit of Phoenix, Arizona, USA

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

—Philippians 4:13, adapted NRSV

Many children have grown up knowing the theme from the cherished book, The Little Engine That Could, written by “Watty Piper,” a pen name of Arnold Munk. For three generations it was also a favorite of our family. Each child always joined in to joyfully recite the repetitive theme, “I think I can! I think I can!”

While visiting our grandchildren in Oklahoma, we took Stephen and Tyler to a favorite hamburger place for lunch. The draw was not the food but the play area. Tyler, 3 years old, could hardly wait to join the others in the magical room that was a couple of feet deep in soft plastic balls. On the far side was a short basketball standard, and Tyler loved basketball.

We launched him down the steps, and he disappeared from view, too short for the depth of the balls. An older girl led him across the little room, brushing the balls aside for him. He then tried his best to toss a few balls through the net, not easy when you can’t see what you are doing.

Time passed and finally we called that it was time to go. Tyler turned, cleared away enough balls to see us, and acknowledge he had heard. He then disappeared again, only his small cap visible as he made large swimming motions on his return trip. We could see his mouth moving, and when he was close we heard, “I think I can! I think I can!”

Indeed, he could. It is that same determination that has carried him in his life—to a career in the US Air Force, to a wife, and baby daughter. He thinks he can, therefore he can.

It is a testimony of faith and a choice to devote our giftedness to the mission to which God calls us—Christ’s mission. “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.”

Prayer for Peace Steadfast God, help us look at the day before us and be assured of your presence. Help us discern our part of Christ’s mission and assure us of our ability to respond accountably.

Spiritual Practice: Making Responsible Choices Prayerfully seek God’s guidance in your choices. Discernment invites us to orient our lives toward God, God’s vision for us, and creation. Begin by reviewing the responsibilities and opportunities in the day before you. Take these choices into prayer, asking God for wisdom and insight about what matters most.

Offer yourself to God with the prayer of Teresa of Avila: “God, what do you want of me today?” Sit prayerfully with this question as you review the day again. Be aware of images, thoughts, names, or actions that come to you. Ask for a blessing to live this day responsibly and compassionately in the Spirit of Christ.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will have faith in my ability to do what is asked of me for the sake of the peaceable kingdom.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Adele

     /  21 April 2014

    Links to comments appear to be broken.

    Adele

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Comments

