Experience God Personally

Wednesday, June 11

6-11By Beryl Swain of Port Macquarie, Australia

You are a good and faithful people, but sometimes you fail to see the power that is resident in your own story and fellowship. Look carefully, listen attentively, and sense the Spirit among you. …Be fervent in your witness, passionate in your discipleship, and vigorous in your labor on behalf of peace and justice.

—Doctrine and Covenants 162:8a–b

When I was raising my first child, I had never experienced God personally. To me, God was “up there.” My beliefs were handed down to me from others. I even was a Sunday schoolteacher, telling stories of the wonders of this God who I only had read about in books.

My husband often had to work late hours. Being of nervous temperament, I always locked the doors securely. One particular night, I couldn’t find the key to the back door. My 5-year-old son and I searched everyplace we could think of. No luck. By now, I was agitated and tearful. My son sensed my worry.

“Let’s ask God to help us find it,” my son suggested.

“You don’t ask God to find keys,” I stammered.

“Why not?” he asked. “We’ve done our best. Now I’ll ask God.”

Fearing his childlike faith would be dampened, I decided to pretend his prayer had given me strength not to fear the unlocked door.

He prayed, “Dear God, we did our best, but we couldn’t find it, so please show Mommy where the key is.”

I reached into my pocket for a hankie to dry my tears, and yes, I pulled out the key! Whether or not God helped me find the key, a little child’s trust set my feet on the path of faith. That day, I met the One who became the center of my life. I met a true friend, who is concerned with every part of our lives.

Prayer for Peace Trustworthy God, help us change directions when we doubt. Help us form a personal connection with you. Help us find personal ways to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voices as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you sense. If you feel led, you also may want to write a note or card and give a message of affirmation and love to each child.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will listen to the faithful testimonies of others and develop a connection with you to be able to share my own witness.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Brought tears to my eyes remembering I had met God there too! How sweet that he thought first to do his best and then call on God! Thank you so much for sharing. I needed that moment tonight!

  2. Adriana (México)

     /  11 June 2014

    Esta historia me hizo recordar que cuando vemos ante nuestros ojos problemas, lo primero que pasa es que nos llenamos de angustia y ansiedad. Pero cuando ya estamos cansados de llevar esas cargas o problemas, con una simple oración elevada a Dios las cosas cambian. Siempre un niño ve las cosas de forma diferente que un adulto.

    *Quisiera que este blog se pudiera hacer en español, aunque en inglés también me trae bendición 🙂

  3. Pat Danielson

     /  11 June 2014

    Thank you so much for sharing this experience. My mother was a big believer in praying to God for the ‘littlest’ things. One time she couldn’t find a key and had checked her pockets and everywhere else she could think to look. She felt God telling her to check the pocket again in her jacket. Here, the key had fallen through a hole in the seam of the pocket!
    God will help us, indeed, through the big and ‘litttlest’ things!

  4. Melba J Dixon

     /  11 June 2014

    Thank you very much for sharing your heartwarming story.

  5. Vera Entwistle

     /  11 June 2014

    Beryl, Lovely to hear from you via the Daily Bread. Love to you and your husband from Brian and from me.

Comments

