The Heavens Proclaim a Moment

Thursday, June 12

6-12By Cindy L. Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

The heavens are telling the glory of God; and the firmament proclaims his handiwork. …Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to you, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.

—Psalm 19:1, 14 NRSV

When I switched jobs, I had to arrive at work an hour earlier. This hour had been used for my morning prayer time and sunrise walk. I would sorely miss this hour, so I took it to God in a necessarily short prayer.

Soon after that, I arrived at work, parked the car, and hurried to cross the street. A traffic light stopped me. It was then, forced to halt and face the eastern sky, I beheld the rising sun. It lit the sky in brilliant reds, oranges, and yellows. I paused for an expanded moment, gazing on the beautiful sunrise, praising and thanking God.

Truly, God hears our prayers and proclaims the moment a prayer comes from our hearts. The sun rises daily; therefore, I believe…our prayers will rise daily, as well.

Prayer for Peace God of the sunrise and the clouds that reflect its brilliant colors, we thank you for the inspiration to commune with you. Help us be aware that these moments are always with us, to open like a gift, and to listen to their message of peace.

Spiritual Practice: Time with God Sit quietly and let your breathing become calm and deep. Ask God’s Spirit to rest on you. See or sense the Spirit anointing you in the form of light, a dove, wind, color, or other images that might come. Ask to become aware of God’s love. Listen to the ways in which God wants to flow from your heart as living water. Give thanks that your name is “beloved,” that our name is Community of Christ.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will use any spare moments as prayer moments.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. CK

     /  12 June 2014

    Oh how wonderful! Enjoy your week at Reunion and enjoy the sunrises and sunsets for all of us!

  2. Ginger Walker

     /  12 June 2014

    Thank you for sharing, Cindy. We will be at Reunion next week at Bandera, TX…Camp Sionito. I always look forward to looking out from the tabernacle across the valley and mountains. Sometimes we have been there and looking out watched the rain moving toward us. It is awesome! Our view is to the west so we can really enjoy it in the morning during our morning worship and in the evening during our service as the sun is going down. It truly refreshes your soul!

Comments

