The Blue Sign

Tuesday, June 24

6-24By Emma Gray of Sioux City, Iowa, USA

How lovely is your dwelling place, O Lord of hosts! …Even the sparrow finds a home, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young, at your altars…Happy are those who live in your house, ever singing your praise. Selah.

—Psalm 84:1, 3–4 NRSV

It had been a beautiful, warm day, so I went for a run. The Washington, DC, Congregation is happily found about 1½ miles from my university campus. It’s the perfect distance for a halfway point. So, as usual, I headed out on Massachusetts Avenue.

I think a lot when I run. I think a lot all the time. Maybe I’m just more aware of it when I run because I’m trying to make sure I don’t pass out when I have to go up the long hill before Wisconsin Avenue. I think about people, behavior, regrets, wishes, plans, questions, and more. The path starts downhill, just soon enough, and I can start to make out the lighted blue church sign. Almost there.

When I see that blue sign, I feel more like I’m running home, more so than when I turn around and run back to campus. The church is home. It is the same blue sign that welcomes me to my home congregation in Sioux City, Iowa. It’s the same blue sign that welcomes me to the campgrounds in Onset, Massachusetts. It’s the same blue sign that will welcome me no matter where I wander, even if it’s just waiting for me whenever I decide to wander back.

Community of Christ’s blue sign is a beacon in my life. It tells me, “It’s OK. You’re on the right track. You’re almost there. You will find community here.” These are the same words I long to hear every second of my life.

Tonight, after I reached the church, I stopped to sit on the front steps and breathe for a while. It was starting to get late, and I was alone. But I just couldn’t leave. I began to wonder why I was where I was at that second.

After many thoughts, I still couldn’t articulate a perfect answer. The night glowing as a deep navy blue from the city lights, caught my eye when I looked up for answers. “Blue is a good color for you, God,” I thought.

There was not one car on Massachusetts Avenue at that moment. A breeze cooled the perspiration on my forehead. My reflection ended as a loud motorcycle zipped by. I laughed.

So you could enjoy that moment, Emma. That’s why you’re here.

Prayer for Peace Ever-present God, thank you for our time together.

Spiritual Practice: Time with God Sit quietly and let your breathing become calm and deep. Ask God’s Spirit to rest on you. See or sense the Spirit anointing you in the form of light, a dove, wind, color, or other images that might come. Ask to become aware of God’s love. Listen to the ways that God wants to flow from your heart as living water. Give thanks that your name is “beloved,” that our name is Community of Christ.

Peace Covenant Here I am, God. I am listening.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. David Brock

     /  24 June 2014

    I’m so glad there is one of those “blue signs” on Mass Avenue in Washington, D.C. . . . and so many “blue signs” along avenues and roads and streets in rural and urban areas around the globe! Great reflection!

  2. Janné Grover

     /  24 June 2014

    What a wonderful reminder of home and community. I feel the same way when I see the blue sign.
    Blessings on all your journeys and on all your returns to home.

Comments

