Spiritual Positioning System

Wednesday, June 25

Painting by  Vera Entwistle

Painting by
Vera Entwistle

By Vera Entwistle of Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

Listen to the Voice that echoes across the eons of time and yet speaks anew in this moment. Listen to the Voice, for it cannot be stilled, and it calls you once again to the great and marvelous work of building the peaceable kingdom, even Zion, on behalf of the One whose name you claim.

—Doctrine and Covenants 162:1b

We were moving to make our home in a town we knew nothing about. Expecting to face challenges in finding our way around, we invested in a state-of-the-art global positioning system (GPS) for our car.

We thought it would solve our problems. We were wrong!

Day after frustrating day we tried to get the GPS to take us to new destinations. However, it continually responded with an emergency signal, advising us our request was denied. We often resorted to asking pedestrians to help us. Finally, we decided to return to the car show room to ask for help.We quickly learned that unlike a previous GPS we’d owned, this new GPS required us to be at a stand still before we could set it to a new destination—a logical safety feature.

As I thought about this, I realized I could learn a lesson from this feature. I soon found myself humming a few bars of the campfire song, “Be Still and Know that I Am God.” I thought of how seldom I stood completely still. I wondered if perhaps this is the reason my spiritual life is often in turmoil. Just like my GPS, I need to be still so I can carefully and prayerfully listen to God’s direction.

Prayer for Peace We pause, God, to praise you. We are still…to attend our many blessings. We are silent…to listen for your direction in our lives. We pause, praise, listen, and pray. From this place, we can journey on to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Time with God Sit quietly and let your breathing become calm and deep. Ask God’s Spirit to rest on you. See or sense the Spirit anointing you in the form of light, a dove, wind, color, or other images that might come. Ask to become aware of God’s love. Listen to the ways in which God wants to flow from your heart as living water. Give thanks that your name is “beloved,” that our name is Community of Christ.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will be still and listen before I embark on my journey.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ramona Seeley

     /  16 July 2014

    Vera, I’m a little late, but thank you for your thoughts. I appreciated them.

  2. I love this metaphor. Thank you for sharing.

Comments

