Committed Community

Friday, June 27

Photo of  Scott Blair

Photo of
Scott Blair

By Scott Blair of Independence, Missouri, USA

This means that it is not the children of the flesh who are the children of God, but the children of the promise are counted as descendants. For this is what the promise said…Even before they had been born or had done anything good or bad (so that God’s purpose of election might continue, not by works but by his call)…So it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God who shows mercy.

—Romans 9:8–9, 11–12, 16 V

When I was 15 I joined Community of Christ. Since then, I’ve been going to family camps (reunion), and I love it. Even though I go only once a year, this camp helps shape me into someone who is passionate about discipleship. The people at these camps have encouraged me, taught me, guided me, loved me, held me accountable. Now they work beside me in ministry. They have committed to me, and I am committed to them.

This year the camp experience was even more significant. My wife and I recently had our first child, and we took her to camp with us! She was only 6 weeks old, but we could not imagine not going to camp or not bringing her with us. It was a little more work than usual on our part, but well worth it. Everyone fell in love with our little girl. We could see the people around us commit to our child.

We know there will be a time when our little girl won’t be so little. She’ll lean on others for advice and guidance. I know the same community that has helped shape me since I was 15 can greatly affect her life. No longer is camp just about hanging out with friends, going to campfires, and doing the practices that fill my spiritual needs. It’s now about keeping a little girl involved in a community of people that can help her become a self-sufficient woman with a sense of value and self-worth.

I now understand the importance of my church family on a new level. I hope the members understand how much my family needs them, as I now understand how much they need me. We commit to Christ and his faithful community. It’s one of the most sacred actions we can take as individual disciples and as a church. May you have a deeper understanding of your role in your sacred community, and commit to your divine call.

Prayer for Peace Covenant God, we are at the mercy of your grace and take comfort in your compassion. May we commit to a compassionate response for the community we share.

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voices as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you sense. If you feel led, you also may want to write a note or card and give a message of affirmation and love to each child.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will commit to the spiritual welfare of the children of my community.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Ramona Seeley

     /  16 July 2014

    Scott, I’m a little late, but I enjoyed your article so much. How true it is. And now you have Gage and I missed his blessing this year. Blessings to your family.

  2. Vera Entwistle

     /  27 June 2014

    Scott, your Daily Bread story today is a reminder how much we should value the fellowship in our church. For three years Brian and I lived in Shanghai, China, completely isolated from our church family. It was then re realized on a daily basis what that support and encouragement from our church family meant to us. Thanks for your reminder!

Comments

