Affirm One Another

Wednesday, July 9

candleBy Wendy Ballard of Forster, New South Wales, Australia

For as the earth brings forth its shoots, and as a garden causes what is sown in it to spring up, so the Lord God will cause righteousness and praise to spring up before all the nations.

—Isaiah 61:11 NRSV

I was doing one of those dreaded household chores, sorting piles of papers. I came across a bunch of “affirmations” written for me at a youth camp a few years earlier. As part of our worship and community building at camps, we often write affirmations praising one another. For instance, we may tell how a person “lets their light shine.” We may name the qualities we see in them or how we see the Christ reflected in them.

This day had been a blue day for me. I felt sorry for myself. I carried concerns for my loved ones. Reading these affirmations was a gift. They lifted my spirits in many ways. I finished my task singing, “Let all the world in every corner sing, My God and King!” (text by George Herbert).

On that same day I received an e-mail from a camper. He had just found in his wallet an affirmation I had written to him at a kids camp a few years before. He said it made his day, and he wanted to tell me he knows God loves him, and that God loves me, too. It was a God moment, of this I am sure!

This reminds me how important it is to take time to tell people what they mean to us. We can tell them how we see their light shine and the positive discipleship we see in them. We can let them know we see the Christ reflected in them. Taking those opportunities may lead to other opportunities for sharing. I try to take those opportunities in my life.

Prayer for Peace

God of grace and God of glory, we praise you for companions that support us and energize us for our work on Christ’s mission. Bless us with your Spirit and peace so we are always ready to share.

Spiritual Practice: Develop Disciples to Serve As disciples of Jesus Christ, we are called to respond to people and their needs. Pray about using your skills to help another person, and using your words to praise them. As you feel affirmed, thank God for the opportunity to be a responding, serving disciple while you move into the outward journey.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will be generous with praise.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gladys Geis

     /  9 July 2014

    Thanks so much for sharing your blessings with us this morning.

  2. It’s so important to share those ‘God moments’ – too often I know it, appreciate it, give thanks for it but don’t share it with others. Thank you for sharing an uplifting reminder!!

Comments

