Homesick

Thursday, July 10

7-10By David Lloyd of Lee’s Summit, Missouri, USA

The salvation of the righteous is from the Lord; he is their refuge in the time of trouble. The Lord helps them and rescues them…and saves them, because they take refuge in him.

—Psalm 37:39–40 NRSV

I remember the first time I went to a weeklong summer camp. I was excited my parents considered me grown up enough to go out on my own. Though the campground was only about 40 minutes away, it might as well have been in another country.

As soon as the tires stopped on the gravel parking lot, I went out the door and headed to the lake. I had a whole week of canoeing, swimming, fishing, exploring, and staying overnight with “the boys”! (Yes, there were girls at the camp, but at that age I don’t think I noticed.) I was ready to jump into the experience of junior camp!

Somewhere, my mother checked me in and paid the fees. After searching but not finding me anywhere, she reluctantly returned home.

About an hour or so later, I came to a startling realization: I was alone.

My friends surrounded me, and I longed to be in this place. And though the thought of summer at home was unbearable, but I immediately got homesick. The sickness resulted as a reflection of those blessings I took for granted—a self-giving mother, a soft bed, and the comforts of family. Only a short time into my long-awaited freedom, I had begun to pine for what mattered most.

Somewhere, in our heart of hearts, we may long for that taken-for-granted home. It usually lies in the place where love nurtures us and reveals places where we separate from that love. In Christ, we find our home. It calls to us when we wander too far or when we neglect the love and care that form us.

So what makes you “homesick”? What calls your heart back to where it needs to be? How does it tie to the mission of Jesus Christ in your life? Homesickness may be our longing for God. This can eventually lead us to the place we find healing and wholeness.

Prayer for Peace Tender Shepherd, find us and bring us home, where we will know what matters most. Send us into service, knowing there is a place of peace with you we can call home.

Spiritual Practice: Offering Blessings of Community Receive and share Blessings of Community. Begin with a prayer of gratitude for the friendships in your life. See and feel connections with family members, spiritual friends, people in your congregation and community, and people and creatures in God’s sacred web of life. What blessings flow to you from these circles? How have you felt the love of the community? Go deeper each day as you consider what acts of blessing you can complete for stranger and friend alike.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will help someone find their “home.”

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Norma Mercurio

     /  10 July 2014

    Thank you for your thoughts this morning. They have blessed me .

Comments

