Beyond Words

Monday, July 14

7-14By Paul McCain of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Listen, O people of the Restoration—you who would become a prophetic people…Listen to the Voice that speaks from beyond the farthest hills, from the infinite heavens above, and the vast seas below.

—Doctrine and Covenants 162:1a

Through the years, the Divine has found new ways to communicate with me. More than once, the sentinel that steadfastly guards the part of me that resists change has been caught off duty while I was between sleep and wakefulness.

So it was one morning—an extraordinary beginning for any day. Before I could get my mind around what world I was in, descriptive phrases came to me. You may have had similar experiences when something just would not let go. So after some struggle, I finally rose up in bed and transcribed the thoughts onto paper.

I felt a part of the personality of God was trying to find its way into my understanding. Though I had the written words before me, it was as if a white-hot fire consumed them—burning past the inked figures, and into my mind. I found myself deep in a part of my being that knows communication beyond words. For a moment, understanding was vivid and whole. Too quickly all but the memory was gone.

The powerful realization of God’s presence sometimes sneaks up on me. It startles me and finds me smiling at the unending variety that testifies of its Source. In my mind, I can see God smiling, too, with the thought of what is yet to come.

May God always be able to catch our attention and reveal to us new images and new understanding.

Prayer for Peace Surprising God, we are ready, with pen poised, to record and remember what you inspire in us. As co-creators with you, may what we share further the cause of Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Encountering Scripture as Continuing Revelation Read and pray with Doctrine and Covenants as Continuing Revelation of God’s vision for the church and creation. Choose a favorite section or focus on counsel in Sections 156–164. Read a few selected paragraphs slowly three or four times. Pause to pray for deep understanding after each reading.

Pray for the opening of your heart and emotions. Prayerfully ask to hear the phrase or word that speaks to you or touches your life. Stay with this word or phrase. Listen as fully and openly as you can. What sense of divine presence or invitation comes? What is revealed?

Peace Covenant Today, God, I hope you will catch me smiling.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Dick Hahn

     /  14 July 2014

    Thank you Paul for sharing your experience so beautifully. I’ve had the same experience many times, starting at age 13. Most of the time I do not write anything down. The insights are so timely and vivid, they seem to stick forever, or as long as we need them. At times, as I brood on insights from long ago, even greater insights come. How blessed we are with
    God-given “spiritual sensitivity” to receive blessings beyond all worthiness. Salvation is surely a present and ongoing experience for us is our daily lives. Praise God!

  2. Good morning, Paul! I enjoyed your testimony this morning. It is wonderful to hear the Lord is still working through you. His amazing Holy Spirit does wonderful things if we will only pause and take time to listen.
    Rob and I will be leaving for IYF and SPEC tomorrow. Anticipating great things!
    God bless!

  3. Dorothy

     /  14 July 2014

    I am moved by your testimony. I, too, have experienced God in similar ways. I find it difficult to use words to explain the experience. It is the kind of thing that must be experienced to understand. Thank you for sharing.

Comments

