Blessed by a Discerning Moment

Thursday, July 17

ContinentsBy Nancy Hylton of Seattle, Washington, USA

I appeal to you therefore, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.

—Romans 12:1–2 NRSV

As I stared into the evening campfire at a Baptist youth camp when I was 13, I found myself giving my life unconditionally to Christ. I am not sure what outer words sparked the inner transformation and commitment, but I was at that moment willing to go to some exotic place and spend my life as a medical missionary.

Later, as a university student, I felt called to join Community of Christ. After much deliberation and prayer, I shifted my career path to pediatric physical therapy. It was like giving up a long-held possession, but I knew the difficult choice was right.

Now I can look back over my more than 40 years as a pediatric physical therapist. My journey astounds me. So many lives have touched mine! I got the chance to teach all over the USA, Europe, Mexico, Israel, Moldova, and Philippines. I helped disabled children and their families in India, North Africa, and the Middle East. Little did I know how God would use that moment of commitment so many years ago!

Sometimes God takes us on a journey of blessing. God leads us to places and people—to fill needs we never could imagine.

Prayer for Peace Creator God, help us discern your will for our service wherever we are. Expand our comfort zone that we may reach further with your peace.

Spiritual Practice: Develop Disciples to Serve Read and reflect on Psalm 42:1–2. As disciples of Jesus Christ, we are called to respond to people and their needs. The call to journey inward can restore us in times of physical or spiritual depletion.

Imagine you can feel a vessel at the center of your being (a clay jar, a crystal vase, a metal bucket, or other container). Imagine drawing something from the vessel to share with another person, but as you reach inside you find only a tiny pool of stagnant liquid. You are thirsty, dry, and empty. Listen prayerfully again to the psalm, “As a deer longs for flowing streams, so my soul longs for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.”

As you feel restored, thank God for the opportunity to be a responding, serving disciple while you move into the outward journey. Remember this exercise as you drink water throughout the day.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will develop my ability to respond to people and their needs.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Linda Porter

     /  17 July 2014

    I thought of Mattie as I read this Daily Bread. I hope she is enjoying Spec. I am off to Tobermory with Gateway Haven residents today…should be fun!

Comments

