God Knows the Words

Friday, August 8

8-8By Vera Entwistle of Eugene, Oregan, USA

…pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.

—2 Timothy 2:22 NRSV

I was visiting with a friend who was preparing for baptism the next day. She shared her concerns that she felt she did not word her prayers properly. She said, “I am not good at praying.” As she spoke I thought of a story I had heard recently and I shared it with her.

Peeping through her little boy’s bedroom door, a mother saw him kneeling by his bed. However, what she heard puzzled her. He said, “A, b, c, d, e, f, g….” She tiptoed into the room and asked what he was doing. “I’m saying my prayers. I am so tired tonight I just can’t think of the words, so I am just telling God all the letters. God knows what I need and he can put the words together for me.”

This story eased my friend’s concerns. For most of us there will come times of great need or stress when we do not know what to say. We feel our prayers are inadequate. Perhaps it is enough for us to be still and call on God to accept the love and trust expressed in our silence.

Prayer for Peace Dear God, a…b…c…

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voices as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you sense. If you feel led, you also may want to write a note or card and give a message of affirmation and love to each child.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will have faith that you know the desires in my heart, even before I speak.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Julie Mahoney

     /  16 September 2014

    this is one of my very favorites. thank you for sharing.

  2. Katherine Bridwell

     /  8 August 2014

    Awesome Vera, Lots of times don’t have the words to say but this was really cute and God does know what the needs are. Thank you Hi to Brian to. Kathy Bridwell

Comments

