Being Imperfect, Being Loved

Friday, August 15

8-15By Louita Clothier of Lamoni, Iowa, USA

Your steadfast love, O Lord, extends to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds. Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains, your judgments are like the great deep; you save humans and animals alike, O Lord. How precious is your steadfast love, O God!

—Psalm 36:5–7 NRSV

When I was a child, I was a tomboy and got into many scrapes. I loved to climb trees, but an early adventure of climbing something else almost got me in real trouble.

When I was 4 years old, we lived in New Albany, Indiana, next to a three-story elementary school. With envy, I used to watch the children going, coming, and playing on the playground. What must go on inside that building was a mystery to me.

Somehow, when my mother was not watching, I escaped down our little lane, darted onto the empty school grounds, and clambered up the fire escape! From there I could peek inside the windows to satisfy my curiosity.

I have no idea how my mother found me so quickly. But imprinted on my memory is the clear disapproval on her face as I looked down from my first try at academic heights. I climbed down so fast I stumbled the last few steps.

I sat on the living room floor the rest of the afternoon, waiting for my dad to come home and spank me. But all he said was “Are you hurt? No? Good. What did you learn from it?” I didn’t have to be perfect to receive Dad’s love. He loved me enough to help me learn to grow from my imperfect actions.

Sometimes we are like that—spending our lives waiting in fear of God’s punishment. If we have to be perfect to earn God’s love, we would never get it. God made us to grow slowly, learn from our mistakes, and begin again and again.

The overwhelming sense that God loves me, even though by my actions I deny him, makes all the difference in my life.

Prayer for Peace Loving God, help us learn from our mistakes, not linger on them. Help us remember we tried and forget that we fell. We are thankful for the healing security of your unconditional love.

Spiritual Practice: God’s Love Reflect on the love of God. How is it that God’s love is unconditional? How can you express unconditional love? How do you see God’s love revealed in Christ? How do you see God’s love in your own life? Thank God for the perfect gift of love: Jesus Christ.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I, with my many faults, will be secure in your love.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Virginia Panaitescu

     /  15 August 2014

    Thank you!

  2. Diane Akers

     /  15 August 2014

    Such a beautiful testimony! Thanks for sharing!

Comments

