God-size Job…We Need Not Apply

Wednesday, August 27

8-27By Deb Crowley, of Charlotte, Michigan

My child, do not forget my teaching, but let your heart keep my commandments; for length of days and years of life and abundant welfare they will give you. …Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not rely on your own insight. In all your ways acknowledge God, and he will make straight your paths.

—Proverbs 3:1–2, 5–6, NRSV adapted

God is God, and we are not. These words from a sermon resonate loudly for me. The job of administrator of close to a hundred congregations is daunting. On good days, there is excitement, camaraderie, and the Holy Spirit, giving insight, energy, and hope.

Other days, there is dealing with conflict, anger, heartbreak, and overwhelmingly heavy burdens. Do you ever have days like that?

A couple of months ago I had a hard day. Bickering members in a few congregations saddened me. Financial woes that go with every charitable organization depressed me. I cried to God in frustration because no easy answers could relieve the pain and suffering. “Why, God? What can I possibly do to make a difference? People are too stubborn. They’ll never get along, and it’s just too hard! I want to quit before the dark hole swallows me!”

At my lowest point, God spoke. Not in a verbal voice, but through a message in my mind that was clear and concise. “All you have to do is love them. I’ve got everything else under control!”

I could feel the weight fall from my shoulders as God reminded me that God is God, and I am not.

There is no way I can carry the weight alone. No way to solve the problems of the world. No way to stop the bickering over insignificant concerns that stem from fear or a sense of loss. It is a God-size job!

It is my job to administrate justly and ethically. It is my Christ-like joy to love unconditionally and pastor with tenderness and patience. It is also my job to trust God as directed in Proverbs. God is God, and we are not. Bring on the challenges! With God anything is possible, and there are plenty of good days for those who faithfully rely on the Lord!

Prayer for Peace God of wisdom, help us lay our burdens at your feet. Help us trust your love when life challenges us. We rely on you to help us share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Praying for Leadership of the Church An important spiritual practice for disciples is praying for members of the body of Christ, particularly those who carry leadership responsibilities. Ask God to guide your awareness of persons who lead the community of faith in congregations, mission centers, and the World Church. Pray for God’s outpouring of grace on each servant leader who comes to mind.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will be aware of your comforting presence when I face a challenge.

Next Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Deb Crowley

     /  28 August 2014

    Thank you for the kind words. The “God is God and we are not” came from one of Steve Veazey’s sermons. it impressed me and serves to remind me of God’s grace for us all!

  2. God is God and we are not! I absolutely love that. Thank you so much for your very insightful entry for Daily Bread. I shall remember this for sure.

  3. Jo Heitmeyer

     /  27 August 2014

    I loved your testimony. It spoke to me. Thanks for your dedication, ministry and service.

  4. Vera Entwistle

     /  27 August 2014

    What a great reminder! GOD IS GOD! How often do I forget that important fact. I am like the little boy in the television commercial who used to sa y, “Please mother I’d rather do it myself!” Except for me it is the “Please Father I’d rather do it myself.” I needed this wake up call. Thanks!

  5. Gladys Geis

     /  27 August 2014

    Thanks so much for your thoughts. I think that is God’s will for us to Love and let him work out his desire in others lives. Bad days usually bring us new understanding , I enjoy hearing what others think. Thanks to you all.

  6. Kirsten Farmer

     /  27 August 2014

    Beautifully said, Deb! Your love is evident to all you serve. Thank you.

  7. Dick Hahn

     /  27 August 2014

    Thanks Deb for your powerful witness. Without detracting from it at all, I want to bear witness that all we humans are created in God’s image, and in God’s likeness, blessed with God’s spirit of life and goodness, and so many spiritual gifts some of which we can’t even name. We are God’s partners in mission, whom God honors unconditionally as free stewards to use all the gifts with which we are endowed. Kierkegaard defines sin as despair, which means we are so down on ourselves, that we’re “good for nothing.” That is never God’s judgment upon us, but our own. We must rejoice in our partnership with God, both in times of joy and sorrow, success and failure, always trusting God and ourselves to carry on the mission. Temptations are aplenty, but unequal to grace and forgiveness!

  8. Diane Akers

     /  27 August 2014

    A-men! You said it wonderfully!

  9. Lisa

     /  27 August 2014

    A message we should all remember! Thanks!

  10. Carol Norris Vincent

     /  27 August 2014

    Thank you so much for the poignant and timely (for me) reminder of our role as compared with God’s. When embroiled in unpleasant situations I often think that I have to solve it, and now I’m going to try to remember what MY job really is and what I can leave up to God.

Comments

