Hold Fast

Thursday, August 28

8-28By Cindy L. Korf of North Platte, Nebraska, USA

The Lord your God you shall follow, him alone you shall fear, his commandments you shall keep, his voice you shall obey, him you shall serve, and to him you shall hold fast.

—Deuteronomy 13:4 NRSV

When I took water-safety and lifeguard classes, I learned to throw a lifesaver ring to potential drowning victims. To practice, I threw the ring next to the person, who had to grab the ring. As the victim held it tightly, I pulled the person to shore.

The problem in real life, though, is the person often does not reach for the ring or hold fast to it.

I have found the same true with my life. I fail to reach for God. For many reasons I don’t feel I need God yet. I can do it myself. I’m too busy. Then when I need God, I can’t always see or find the lifeline God extends to me. I founder. But, when I reach out and cling tightly to God, I can make it through the treacherous waters of life. Christ leads me safely to sanctuary.

Prayer for Peace Saving Grace, be patient with us as we founder. Help us stay in touch with you by our spiritual practices. Help us grow closer to you with each prayer and Christ-like deed. We will then find you when we need you. Tug on the strings of our heart. Bring us home to you.

Spiritual Practice: Praying with a Partner Pray with a partner if possible, or imagine Christ sitting with you. The heart is a center of compassion and spiritual connection. Stand or sit across from your partner with hands open and palms up. Invite your partner to place their hands, palms down, on your hands. Close your eyes and be aware of the connection between your heart and your partner’s heart.

What needs, feelings, or longings do you sense? Invite God’s presence to flow into you and move from your heart to the heart of your partner. Feel or see God’s healing light and love flowing between your hearts. After silent prayer, thank God and your partner. Say, amen. (You also may pray this prayer by imagining a particular person across from you.)

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will hold fast to your Word.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Gladys Geis

     /  28 August 2014

    Thanks much Cindy for your thoughts. They are very true and I find God is always there just waiting for us to reach out.

Comments

