The Gift of the Cactus

Saturday, August 30

Photo by Lu Mountenay

Photo by Lu Mountenay

By Doreen Horsley of Independence, Missouri, USA

As soon as the word spread, the people of Israel gave in abundance the first fruits of grain, wine, oil, honey, and of all the produce of the field; and they brought in abundantly the tithe of everything. …“Since they began to bring the contributions into the house of the Lord, we have had enough to eat and have plenty to spare; for the Lord has blessed his people, so that we have this great supply left over.”

—2 Chronicles 31:5, 10 NRSV

We have some cacti that we transplanted from my mother-in-law’s property. We planted them in a spot under an old maple tree, where we couldn’t get anything else to survive. These prickly cacti produce beautiful yellow blossoms. Each blossom lasts only one day. However, each day the cacti give us more. Some days there are several at one time.

One year we had at least 90 blossoms over several days. I am always sad to see the last one fade, but I know they will be back next year.

As with the cactus, we each give of our individual offering. Like the cacti, when we combine our efforts together there is greater beauty—a beauty that keeps coming back, and keeps giving.

Prayer for Peace Creator God, how you lavish us with blessings. You plant gardens and fields, and edge the desert sands with golden blooms. You chart the course of the wild geese and bid the tiny ant to scurry out of the storm and hide beneath my feet. You give, and give, and give again.

—Peggy Michael, adapted

Spiritual Practice: Generous Offerings Spend time meditating on the act of giving an offering. Begin by asking God for the spirit of generosity. Pray and reflect with these questions: How do I feel when I bring my offering to a worship setting and share it? What deep reasons motivate me to give? What is my best understanding of A Disciple’s Generous Response? Considering my financial circumstances, do I feel I am giving to my true capacity? In other words, am I giving the amount I am able without risking the needs and well-being of my family? Is God asking me to be more generous? How will I respond?

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will collaborate with others to meet a need I cannot fill alone.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. keijo leppioja

     /  30 August 2014

    In the nature will flow so much flower and alot differents the tree of fruit with teasted very good and those who not teasted so good and all the father has made for his purpose and in exciting to find in life with joy and be thankful for his amazing wisdom in everyewhere to joy and love him in blessing over us by Christ,thanks and bless,keijo sweden

Comments

