Out of the Depths

Friday, September 5

9-5By Vera Entwistle of Eugene, Oregan, USA

Out of the depths I cry to you, O Lord. Lord, hear my voice! Let your ears be attentive to the voice of my supplications! If you, O Lord, should mark iniquities, Lord, who could stand? But there is forgiveness with you, so that you may be revered. I wait for the Lord, my soul waits, and in his word I hope…

—Psalm 130:1–5 NRSV

Today it seemed so many people made demands on me. Some were pleading, some whining, some demanding…until I wanted to shout, “What about my needs?” As soon as I thought it, these questions came suddenly to mind and left me stunned:

Do you ever feel like that, God? And, where do you go when we do not meet your needs?

As those thoughts resounded through my whole being, I took a deep breath, lifted my eyes toward the sky, and simply said, “Thank you, God, for your patience with me.”

Prayer for Peace Patient God, how can we lament our needs when you have given so much? As we center ourselves in you, take us with you to that place where we can see through your eyes. Set in us that urge to comfort the mourners and share with them the peace of Christ.

Spiritual Practice: Time with God Sit quietly and let your breathing become calm and deep. Ask God’s Spirit to rest on you. See or sense the Spirit anointing you in the form of light, a dove, wind, color, or other images that might come. Ask to become aware of God’s love. Listen to the ways in which God wants to flow from your heart as living water. Give thanks that your name is “beloved,” that our name is Community of Christ.

Peace Covenant Today, God, as I ponder the sorrows of the Earth, I will remember that you cry with us.

Leave a comment

Comments

