My Shepherd, Emily

Monday, September 8

9-8c

Lisa Soignier

By Lisa Soignier of Independence, Missouri, USA

You have put gladness in my heart…I will both lie down and sleep in peace; for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety.

—Psalm 4:7–8 NRSV

I was sitting on the front row at church one Sunday morning when my 8-year-old friend, Emily, walked past me to hug a visitor. Not wanting to leave anyone out, she continued down the row until she hugged everyone on our side of the church.

Then, as I bowed my head, she returned to where I was sitting to make sure I received a hug, too. At that moment I felt like the lost sheep, and the shepherd had returned for me! What a joy it was to receive that reassuring hug! I could feel Emily’s love.

I often feel like a lost sheep when facing circumstances over which I have no control. I try to find my own way to handle my problems. After struggling for solutions, I remember I am not alone. My Shepherd comes to me with an even better plan than I could imagine.

My Shepherd comes in many forms—a card in the mail from a friend, an invitation to lunch with colleagues, a visit with my neighbor, or a phone call from my sister. Seek the sheep that need your ministry and the different ways you minister. Christ calls us to be disciples serving in his stead.

Prayer for Peace Tender Shepherd, how can my heart be sad when I know you are near? How can I feel lost when I trust you know where I am? How can I feel left out when I know you will return for me? How can I be afraid when it is you who sings me to sleep and gives me peace?

Spiritual Practice: Listening to Children Sit in your quiet place and center your heart and mind on God’s presence. Spend several minutes asking God to bring into your awareness the names and images of children in your life. You may see their faces or hear their voices as you receive these impressions. Listen deeply to the unique gifts and needs of the children who come to mind. Offer a prayer of blessing for each child and the needs you sense.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will write a note of affirmation and love to a child.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Melba J Dixon

     /  8 September 2014

    Your story touched me today. What a beautiful reminder that we are never alone.

  2. Janné Grover

     /  8 September 2014

    Thank you for sharing, Lisa. Ministry happens in the most amazing and surprising ways.
    Blessings to you!

Comments

