Priceless Legacy

Tuesday, September 23

9-23By Vivian Betts of Nottinghamshire, East Midlands, England

But this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the Lord: I will put my law within them, and I will write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

—Jeremiah 31:33 NRSV

My grandma was an amazing woman. She was never happier than when sharing what she had. During the war she took people into her home, and her spare bedroom was constantly in use. She would help anyone in financial need.

When I was young we did not own a car, and church was half an hour’s walk away. As we had four services to attend on Sunday, I would spend lunch and dinner with my grandparents. She let me help with the cooking, and she talked constantly about the church she had found as a young woman and the difference it made in her life.

She relied a lot on Granddad, but when he was 68 he was killed in a car accident. She went on to live until she was 97, spending her last years in Peace Haven, Britain’s Community of Christ residential home. When she died she had no financial assets. She had spent her years giving it away. Yet what she left for me were special memories of a woman who lived her life as a vivid example of Jesus Christ, and I thank God for her.

Prayer for Peace God of all generations, keep our covenants fresh in our hearts. We would respect the memories of our ancestors and carry forward traditions of generosity and peace.

Spiritual Practice: Connecting with God as Center Connect with God through journal writing or contemplation. Open yourself to God’s presence and share what flows from your heart and mind. Your “communication with God” might include thoughts, questions, feelings, needs, artwork, quotes, or scriptures. Or it might take the form of a prayer, psalm, or poem. Try to write or meditate at least five minutes each day.

What do you experience? Is this an effective way to connect with God? What surprises you? How do you feel God’s love? What deepens or changes in your relationship with God, Christ, Spirit?

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will remember whose I am.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Melinda Burton

     /  2 October 2014

    Very nice testimony. I plan on using this for our Disciples Generous Response this Sunday.

  2. Thank you for sharing that. My grandmother was just like her. Thanks God for these rocks in which we are founded upon.

  3. Vera Entwistle

     /  23 September 2014

    Good morning Vivian from Eugene, Oregon. I think we probably knew your grandmother. She sounds very much like Grandma Entwistle from Wigan. The legacy those “grandma’s” left behind is precious. Thanks for sharing. God bless and love from Brian and from me, too.

  4. Diane Akers

     /  23 September 2014

    Thanks for your heart warming words! I too can associate with having a wonderful Grandma that also shared deeply with an enduring faith!

  5. Gladys Geis

     /  23 September 2014

    Thanks so much for your thoughts.

Comments

