To Cry or to Scream?

Thursday, September 25

9-25By Glenn Johnson of Covina, California, USA

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he has anointed me to bring good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim release to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free…”

—Luke 4:18 NRSV

Sometimes injustice is obvious and so close that we want to cry out and to shout to God or anyone who will listen. It was my first time to drive the car as our congregation delivered “Wednesday love lunches” to the hungry among our friends without homes. I had no idea what to expect.

We drove behind a gas station, and Scott handed a sack lunch and a water bottle to David, a man in his 70s. He was in a wheelchair, his neck in a brace, both legs missing. How could it be that a man in this condition lived behind a gas station? I wanted to cry. I wanted to scream.

Then a man pushing a shopping cart slowly approached me on the driver’s side. “You’ll have to forgive me, I’m kind of slow,” he said. And then I saw he had only one leg and needed the shopping cart for support. Still bewildered, I handed him his lunch, and Scott directed me to our next stop.

Our 36 lunches were not enough to meet the needs we saw that day. Two people living without homes in our community had died just the week before.

Let us open our eyes to see the hidden injustices around us this day, and let us cry out that we might be mediators of God’s peace.

Prayer for Peace O God of justice, give us strength to serve and courage to cry out against injustices we see. Hear our prayers and bring us closer to the source of all peace so we might be voices for the afflicted.

Spiritual Practice: Voices of God What is the voice of God saying to us? Do we hear the whispers of God’s longing for shalom, God’s dream of beauty and wholeness for all creation? Do we hear the “voice” of God calling through faces and eyes, in the sounds of suffering and joy, in scripture and sacred word, in tears and laughter, in silence and noise?

Spend a few moments reflecting on when and how God’s voice speaks to you. When did you first feel called to join God in the pursuit of peace and justice? How does that call to shalom continue to come to you through the many “voices” of God?

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will raise my voice as well as my eyebrows when I see injustice.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Vera Entwistle

     /  25 September 2014

    What a wonderful ministry of love you provide. God continue to bless to bless you and your congregatio . Your inspire me!

Comments

