Do Not Die with an Empty In-box

Monday, October 6

10-6By Vera Entwistle of Eugene, Oregan, USA

When their breath departs, they return to the earth; on that very day their plans perish. Happy are those whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the Lord their God, who made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them; who keeps faith forever; who executes justice for the oppressed; who gives food to the hungry.

—Psalm 146:4–7 NRSV

Most of my working life, the in-box on my desk overflowed with tasks. My mother wrote me a letter and commented on a photo of my office that I had sent to her.

“I noticed your overflowing IN basket on your desk,” she wrote. “Just remember there will still be stuff in your in-box when you are dead.”

Her comment made me think about the pattern of my days and how often I had missed sharing with a friend because the in-box demanded my attention. I loved my job, but it deeply immersed me in obligation. I missed some special moments because of it.

Since retirement and settling into a new home, my priorities have changed. I have found a saner way of spending my days. If friends ask me to go to the movies or meet them for coffee, I just go.

Now I am free to see that for me the ideal day would be somewhere between my workaholic attitude and giving attention to family, friends, and my soul. Finding balance in a life that includes Christ is my mission.

Prayer for Peace Eternal Hope, help us take time to immerse ourselves in you, as well as our work. Help us spend our time sharing Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Time with God Sit quietly and let your breathing become calm and deep. Ask God’s Spirit to rest on you. See or sense the Spirit anointing you in the form of light, a dove, wind, color, or other images that might come. Ask to be aware of God’s love. Listen to the ways in which God wants to flow from your heart as living water. Give thanks that your name is “beloved,” that our name is Community of Christ.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will remember that time spent with you is time well-spent.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Dick Hahn

     /  6 October 2014

    Thank you Vera for this wonderful insight. I’m retired for 20 years from “work”, and I’m thankful my inbox is still full all the time with blessings and companions on the journey, urges to keep growing and serving. Guess I’m still called and enabled to do really important work. Praise God!

  2. Mikal Shedd

     /  6 October 2014

    Thank-you for this timely reminder. It relieves a lot of stress to see my desk that way.

  3. Cindy Christiansen Push

     /  6 October 2014

    I wish personally I could have started out with this mind set earlier in life, but I guess I can still make the best of it now.

Comments

