A Touch on the Shoulder

Tuesday, October 7

HandshakeBy Dorene Kilburn of Stratford, Ontario, Canada

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

—Romans 15:13 NRSV

It happened during a spontaneous moment when my husband and I decided to slip out to our favorite coffee shop for lunch. As Orme and I chatted over our meal, a young couple repeatedly drew my attention as they sat by the window about 20 feet away.

The coffee shop was busy, and I don’t know why I found myself focusing on this couple. Because Orme was sitting across from me at our table, his back was to them. He couldn’t see them. As the couple left, they passed our table. Suddenly the young man touched Orme on the shoulder and softly said, “You have a good day and God bless.” And he went out the door.

I often have thought about that unusual encounter. The young man was intentionally sharing God’s love. Would I have done that? Not likely! I would rationalize that perhaps I would be speaking to a nonbeliever and therefore wasting my words. Doing that would take courage I don’t have.

But Jesus shared God’s love with countless nonbelievers, and he changed their lives. A brief encounter of this kind might not result in an instant miracle, but it could brighten someone’s day. It brightened ours, and it gave me something to ponder!

Prayer for Peace Holy Spirit, help us have a keen awareness of where blessings are needed—where they might make a difference in a life. Help us find the words someone is waiting to hear. Help us find the eyes that need our heartfelt gaze, the hand that needs shaking, the hunger that needs feeding, the prisoner that needs visiting, the lonely that need a friend. Help us turn unusual encounters into usual, everyday experiences as we share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Invite People to Christ Read and reflect on Doctrine and Covenants 162:3b and 163:2b. Pray to be aware of people who might be receptive, and therefore blessed, by your sharing of the message of the Living Christ. Imagine being in relationship with them and inviting them to Christ. In preparation, discover your personal testimony of Christ. “Be persistent in your witness and diligent in your mission to the world.” Repeat this mantra throughout the day: “Christ’s mission, our mission, my mission.”

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will remember that it might take only a touch or a word to share the peace of Christ.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Melba J Dixon

     /  7 October 2014

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience! What precious connection with a stranger. Your story caused me to attempt to create more awareness of how I may be a blessing to someone else.

Comments

