Words of Support

Monday, October 20

10-20By Peggy Michael of Cantonment, Florida, USA

I appeal to you therefore, brothers and sisters, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your minds, so that you may discern what is the will of God—what is good and acceptable and perfect.

—Romans 12:1–2 NRSV

Our congregation is the spiritual home of several generations. We carefully nurture all children who come to us and teach them the ways of Christ. Young Jared was one of these children. He asked for baptism, so we planned a service to celebrate his commitment to Christ.

A couple of days before the sacramental service, I felt compelled to write a letter of support to Jared. As I finished it, the phone rang. It was his mother. She said in an anxious voice, “I need to talk to you, and it is important.” She told me the person who was to bring the message for the service of baptism had laryngitis and could not speak. She pleaded, “Can you do the charge on such a short notice?”

I must have hesitated as I looked at the letter I had just written. I asked if I might read something to her as an answer to her request. She agreed, though she did not understand why I was hesitant. I shared the letter that I had written to her young son, and she understood my answer. It was the message that I was to give at his baptism. We rejoiced together that I had responded to the Holy Spirit on behalf of young Jared.

Prayer for Peace Prepare us, Lord—make us ready. Gently nudge us to be open to your Spirit. Help us remember that you have a purpose and a call for each one. Help us respond to that call.

Spiritual Practice: Encountering Scripture as Continuing Revelation Read and pray with Doctrine and Covenants as Continuing Revelation of God’s vision for the church and creation. Choose a favorite section or focus on counsel in Sections 156–164. Read a few selected paragraphs slowly three or four times. Pause to pray for deeper understanding after each reading.

Pray to open your heart and emotions. Prayerfully ask to hear the phrase or word that speaks to you or touches your life. Stay with this word or phrase. Listen as fully and openly as you can. What sense of divine presence or invitation comes? What is revealed?

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will rejoice in the times that, together, we got it right.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donald Jones

     /  20 October 2014

    Beautiful testimony.

Comments

