When We Fall and When We Fly

Tuesday, October 21

10-21By Elva Eliason of Vancouver, Washington, USA

…live in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

—Ephesians 5:2 NRSV

It is cold outside. I am not in a rush to go out and meet the challenges of the day. My bedroom window shades open from the top, allowing me to see the sky and the upper branches of the tall trees. I thank God for that view each morning, and this morning I am in awe of the clouds.

They look like a thick featherbed quilted into puffy squares, shaded in whites and grays. However, the darker grays might mean snow, so maybe I shouldn’t be pleased with their beauty…and yet I am.

Then I see a hummingbird dancing over the top of the trees. Settling on the uppermost branch of a tall tree, he hasn’t enough weight to bend the tender twig. He sits there…and sits there, unusually still for a hummingbird. I begin to worry. If he sits much longer, his tiny body will freeze.

Suddenly he plummets straight down, and I gasp. It is just as I feared—his wings have frozen. Unable to fly, he has fallen to the ground.

I rush to the window, but he is behind the neighbor’s fence. I can’t help. I watch for a long time, and then I see him flutter up to one of the lower branches. He sits there and then hovers above the branch for a moment or two, struggling to beat his wings. He settles down on the branch once more, rises again, and again, each time his wings beating stronger.

Then he quickly zooms over the top of the tree, hovering for a moment, exulting in the rebirth of his strength. Then he rises toward the gray clouds.

Sometimes our spirits shrink to the size of a tiny hummingbird. Sometimes our spirits shudder and freeze. But then…an act of love, a memory of what it was like to feel the Spirit’s warm breath beneath our wings…creates a spark. And the spark creates light and warmth within. And strength returns to our soul.

We need to be vulnerable…not to judgment, but to love. May we not linger too long in that part of our soul that is cold and dark. For love is with us—when we fall, and when we fly!

Prayer for Peace Creator God, hover above and around us. Breathe your healing Spirit into us. Give us strength to lift ourselves from cold, dark places and bask in your light. Give us strength to share Christ’s peace.

Spiritual Practice: Breathing God’s Compassion Light a candle and sit quietly, reflecting on the fire and light of God. Pay attention to your breathing and let it become calmer and deeper as you focus on God’s presence. Ask God to breathe in you. Now imagine breathing out God’s compassion and grace each time you breathe out. Pray to have the spirit of Christ radiate from your life like the gentle flame of a candle.

Peace Covenant Today, God, I will remember an act of love done for me, to lift my spirit. I will act with love to lift the spirit of another.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Dorothy Harkrader

     /  29 December 2014

    Why is my Daily Bread no longer coming? I miss it! Date: Tue, 21 Oct 2014 06:01:35 +0000 To: dharkrader@outlook.com

  2. Norma Mercurio

     /  21 October 2014

    Beautiful, just beautiful… Thank you.

Comments

